Tory Party Leader Election – Round 2

Voting in the second round of elections for a new leader of the Tory party has completed (18 June 2019).

In this round all those with fewer than 33 votes, or if all contenders have more than 33 votes the one with the least number of votes, are eliminated.

Results were as follows:

1. Boris Johnson 126 (114)

2. Jeremy Hunt 46 (43)

3. Michael Gove 41 (37)

4. Rory Stewart 37 (19)

5. Sajid Javid 33 (23)


6. Dominic Raab 30 (27)

Matt Hancock withdrew from the leadership contest on 14 June, prior to the second vote.

Further ballots are scheduled to take place on 19, 20 June to reduce the number of candidates until two are left. In each of these rounds the candidate with the fewest number of votes is eliminated

The final two will be put to a vote of the Conservative Party membership from 22 June, with the result expected four weeks later.