The European Parliament

The European Parliament

The European Parliament is a forum for political debate and decision-making at the EU level.


The Parliament is made up of 751 Members elected in the 28 Member States. It is directly elected by EU voters every 5 years and uses the proportional representation voting mechanism. The number of seats are determined by the population of each member state. The last elections were held in May 2014.

The parliament consists of 751 MEPs (Members of the European Parliament).

The current allocation of seats is as follows:

Germany 96
France 74
Italy 73
United Kingdom 73
Spain 54
Poland 51
Romania 32
Netherlands 26
Belgium 21
Czech Republic 21
Greece 21
Hungary 21
Portugal 21
Sweden 20
Austria 18
Bulgaria 17
Denmark 13
Finland 13
Slovakia 13
Croatia 11
Ireland 11
Lithuania 11
Latvia 8
Slovenia 8
Cyprus 6
Estonia 6
Luxembourg 6
Malta 6

The Members of the European Parliament sit in political groups – they are not organised by nationality, but by political affiliation. There are currently 8 political groups in the European Parliament.

25 Members are needed to form a political group, and at least one-quarter of the Member States must be represented within the group.

Members may not belong to more than one political group.

Some Members do not belong to any political group and are known as non-attached Members.



Further details about MEPs including salaries pensions etc. can be found at:

Over the years and with subsequent changes in European treaties, the Parliament has acquired substantial legislative and budgetary powers that allow it to set, together with the representatives of the governments of the Member States in the Council, the direction in which the European project is heading.

source: European Parliament (