Taking over the Business in the HoC

Following a vote in the House of Commons on 3 September 2019, MPs voted by 328 votes to 301 to allow a motion that takes over the business of the House of Commons from the Government, in order to present a Bill that prevents the UK leaving without a deal agreed between the UK and the EU.

The Prime Minister stated that Conservative MPs who voted against the Government would have the Tory whip removed, meaning that they would be expelled from the Conservative party. However, they will continue to sit in Parliament as Independent MPs until the next election when they will also be barred from standing as Conservative MPs.

The vote was a defeat for the Government with 21 Conservative MPs voting against the Government, these were:

  • Guto Bebb (*)
  • Richard Benyon
  • Steve Brine
  • Alistair Burt (*)
  • Greg Clark
  • Ken Clarke (*)
  • David Gauke
  • Justine Greening (*)
  • Dominic Grieve
  • Sam Gyimah
  • Philip Hammond
  • Stephen Hammond
  • Richard Harrington (*)
  • Margot James
  • Oliver Letwin (*)
  • Anne Milton
  • Caroline Nokes
  • Antoinette Sandbach
  • Nicholas Soames
  • Rory Stewart
  • Ed Vaizey

[names marked (*) have indicated that they will not be standing at the next election].

In addition, prior to the vote, the Conservative MP for Bracknell had resigned from the Conservative Party and joined the Liberal Democrats, voting against the Government.

This leaves the Conservative Party with a total of 289 MPs.

The Bill – European Union (Withdrawal) (No.6) Bill – will be presented to Parliament on 4 September. Boris Johnson has confirmed he will seek a snap General Election if MPs vote to prevent a “no-deal”.