Day 1 – Debate to approve the Withdrawal Agreement

Debate in the House of Commons started (on the 4 December 2018) to approve, or otherwise, the Withdrawal Agreement and Political Declaration agreed between the UK and EU.

The first significant item to be decided was an amendment proposed by Dominic Grieve, to the Business of the House Motion on the Withdrawal Agreement.

The amendment allows motions under section 13 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018, to be amended.

This means that, for example, if the Government was to table a new motion, were it to lose a vote on the deal agreed with the EU, MPs would be able to add further amendments to it.

MPs voted to approve this amendment by 321 to 299 votes.

In this vote, disloyalty within the Conservative party was evident with 25 Conservative MPs, mainly in favour of Remain, voting against the Government.

Division 274, 4 December 2018, details

282 Conservative, 9 DUP, 4 Labour and 4 Independent MP voted with the Government

Prime Minister Theresa May then opened the debate on the Withdrawal Agreement, starting five days of debates with 8 hours per day allowed for discussion followed by the “Meaningful Vote” on the final day.

Debate will continue on 5, 6, 10 and 11 December 2018