Constituency Boundary Review

The UK Parliament has decided to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600 and therefore the boundaries of parliamentary constituencies need to be altered to accomodate this change. In England, the number of constituencies will reduce from 533 to 501.

The Boundary Commission for England is the official body deciding where the boundaries should be. There are separate Commissions for Scotland Wales and Northern Ireland.

Each constituency will be formed to contain between 71,031 and 78,507 registered electors. These figures have been calculated using information from local electoral registers provided to the Office of National Statistics published on 24 February 2016.

The Electoral Quota is calculated by taking the total electoraate in the UK (44,562,440) and dividing it by 596. (this excludes four constituencies, two in Scotland and two for the Isle of Wight, that have been made special cases in the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011). The total number of electors in each constituency must be within 5% of the Electoral Quota which are between 71,031 and 78,507 registered electors.

Details of the proposed changes for the new boundaries are available on the website at