60th Anniversary of the Treaties of Rome

The Treaties of Rome were the founding treaties establishing the European Economic Community (EEC) and the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC), which were signed on 25 March 1957 and entered into force on 1 January 1958.

Treaty establishing the European Economic Community (EEC)

Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom)

A history of the EU can be found in the following timeline


EU heads of State or Government were invited to meet in Rome, Italy, on 25 March 2017 for the 60th anniversary of the Rome Treaties. (Theresa May declined the invitation to attend)


The leaders will look back at the achievements of the last 60 years, reaffirm their unity, their common interests and values, as well as reflect on the current challenges and set the priorities for the next ten years and are expected to issue the Rome Declaration.

Background information and a programme is available at


A joint declaration was signed by the leaders of 27 member states and by representatives of the European Council, the European Parliament and the European Commission.

The declaration outlines a 10 year plan for the future direction of the EU with a pledge to work towards

  • A safe and secure Europe
  • A prosperous and sustainable Europe
  • A social Europe
  • A stronger Europe on the global scene

amongst other things, it includes a commitment to work towards Economic and Monetary union

The full text of the declaration is available at




All pictures are © European Union, 2017